Live Life: Be Yourself

 

Hi everyone. I hope you all had a great thanksgiving or if you don’t celebrate that holiday that at least you had a great day that day. Today I wanted to talk about being you. Yes, you. I believe most of us are lying to ourselves when we say we are being who we really are or want to be. I know I have lied to myself for most of my life and that I still lie to myself here and there. I think for myself part of the reason I lie to myself is in fear of what I would do if I started being honest with myself. Should we really be afraid though? For me personally I know it is kind of frightening and perhaps it is the same for you as well, but we must not let fear control our lives. We need to stop lying to ourselves and be what and who we are meant to be. This won’t be an easy journey, but it is definitely one we all need to make if we hope to have the kind of happy lives we all deserve. Remember, as Joseph Campbell quotes, the privilege of a lifetime is being who you are.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Live Life: Be Yourself”

  1. Long Life Cats and Dogs says :

    True but how easy is it to define, for yourself, who you really are? How much has nuture defined you? The good old “nature versus nuture debate”.

    • naokihan says :

      Indeed, that is a troubling question. However, if everything is based on choosing a choice, then I would have to think in the subconscious part of this complicated process there is an essence of one’s nature that becomes part of the choice. It’s like taking a wild wolf and taming it. You can tame the wolf, but deep down its nature still stays intact. Waiting for that one trigger to reawaken it. At least this is what I believe anyways. What are your thoughts about the debate between nature vs nuture?

      • Long Life Cats and Dogs says :

        I believe they both play a vital role. For example – if you were to take a baby, born to a brilliant safe thief, who is adopted by honest, good people, those skills passed down from the father (the ability to be a brilliant safe thief) would then be channeled into something more positive. Maybe the child grows up to be an engineer, a scientist (maybe a safe manufacturer 🙂 ).

  2. appliedalliance says :

    Thought provoking post Naoki…I believe we are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think! Julia

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Privilege of a lifetime! « Jessica A. Brown - December 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

