It Starts With One

“Better the man that conquer a thousand thousand men is the one who conquer one, himself.”

~Buddha

 

When I was at my ex’s place I began to reanalyze my life. Life can be painful; especially when you still love the other, but are not loved back. These feelings led me to feel like my  life is like a wild roller coaster ride. I would come to a point where I had felt stable only to have that stability rocked. This in turn made me just want to give up on everything when things went really bad like being told that everything was over. And then it dawned upon me that I was not loving myself as much as I should have.

Before we reach puberty we’re pretty much free spirits. Some of us can maintain that and enjoy life. Others of us get swept in by the rush of new hormones being produced in our bodies. Either way it is important that we don’t lose site of ourselves. This can be quite difficult in the case of those of us who really want to have love from another, but how can we have love from others if we can’t truly love ourselves?

This is true for all things that deal with the social aspect of our lives. If we can’t take care of ourselves, do stuff for ourselves, and so on and so forth, then how do we expect to receive anything from others on a genuine level? So start with yourself. Improve yourself and prosper. After that everything will fall in place.

 

“I have an everyday religion that works for me. Love yourself first, and everything else falls into line.”

~Lucille Ball

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

