Wealth from the Simple

“It is not the man who has too little, but the man who craves more, that is poor.”

~Seneca

Many people wish to be wealthy. I too, am one such individual. Coming from a middle class family I was well to do, but I always felt rather poor compared to my fellow peers. This left me thirsty for money and got me into all sorts of trouble. I have struggled and toiled over the idea of a secret formula that the rich must possess to be as wealthy as they are. However, with age and experience I have slowly gained the wisdom that the formula itself is simple.

The formula I had thought after for so long was much simpler than my initial concept of what it was. The formula I came to for great wealth is:

Wealth = Service + Love + Skill

In a previous post I had written about service. I have also talked about love and skill, but I had not taken these to heart until I had came upon a realization from my pondering of how the rich became the rich. If you observe the path to which these wealthy individuals have taken it would seem rather complicated, but if you look from afar it is quite simple. They served many people. They had the skills to provide the service that they used to service the people. They loved what they did to serve the people that they served. And lastly, they kept the focus of their service simple.  Here is a list of examples of companies that have followed this method:

  • Microsoft focused on putting Windows in every home and business computer across the world.
  • Berkshire Hathaway focused on buying stock from companies that had a simple focus.
  • Wal-Mart focused on selling goods cheaper than the competition.
  • Boeing focused on making airplanes.

These companies have a singular focus and have become some of the most successful companies in the world. So if you wish to be successful, then follow the formula and do it on a grand scale. Everything takes time and starts small, but if you are willing to provide others with some form of service combined with love and skill, then you shall surely become wealthy.

“The greatest ideas are the simplest.”

~William Golding, Lord of the Flies

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Wealth from the Simple”

  1. appliedalliance says :

    You are spot on Naoki! Thanks for reminding me. Julia

Leave a Reply

